Angus Youth turn up from far and wide for Roundup 2020

January 21, 2020 3:47 pm

Angus Youth Roundup was once again back in 2020, taking place in Toowoomba, QLD from Thursday January 16 to Sunday January 19.

The event saw more than 130 participants and 150 cattle from all the states and territories take part, despite unfavourable weather conditions taking hold around the country.

Roundup 2020 saw a different approach to the program, this year turning a focus to Northern production systems to celebrate the event returning to Queensland for the first time in 6 years.

The program saw various educational sessions and demonstrations, the Barnyard Olympics, new editions meat judging and commercial livestock junior judging, cattle classes and parader classes.

The Special Dinner Dance took place Saturday January 18 and saw more than 200 people come together for an evening of fundraising.  The live and silent auctions raised over $16,900 to go to the ongoing support of Angus Youth programs.  This amazing total is thanks to the generous bidders and under bidders on the evening, digging deep in support of the Angus Youth program.

The event supported by a number of a generous sponsors, whom without their support the event wouldn’t be possible.

The event was a great success and would not have been possible without the continuous work of the excellent Roundup Committee, under the guidance of Coordinator Steph Frankham.  The 2020 committee were instrumental to ensuring the success of this event.

Feature Image: Emily H Photography.  Visit the Emily H Photography website HERE.

The 2020 Angus Youth Roundup Results:

2020 Trans-Tasman Exchange – Billi Marshall

Merridale Angus Most Aspiring Breeder Award – Lachlan West

Matthew George Citizenship Award – Abby Nowland

David and Kathleen Cornell Shield – Steph Frankham

EJ Angus Encouragement Award – Chloe Plowman

Champion Senior’s Awards – John Deleforce, Georgia Laurie, Chloe Gould and Claudia Humphries

Intermediate Champion Junior Judge Award – Amelie Martin

Angus Australia Business Marketing Award – John Deleforce

Champion Team – VIC State Committee

Best Maintained Stall – Bowenfels Angus

Best Presented Animal – Sophie Halliday

  Pee Wee Junior Sub – Intermediate Intermediate Seniors
Herdsperson Champion Darcy Graham Matthia Rudder Isabel Glasser Monique Gapes John Deleforce
Reserve Champion Georgie Hill Jack Iddles Noah Iddles Casey Halliday Billi Marshall
3rd Ben Scheiwe Lottie Volker Samuel Graham Chloe Plowman Chloe Gould
4th Imogen Scanlon Johnny Fish Lily Kemph Zoe Cargill Georgia Laurie
5th Aiden Rudder Riley Scott Meg Kealey Amelie Martin Kaiti McGregor
Encouragement Award Vanessa Thompson Brooke Iseppi Gorgie Plowman Lachlan West Chloe Kemph
Encouragement Award Lily Nott Thomas Duddy Matilda Salter Lilli Stewart
Kell Co Commercial Cattle

Assessment Junior Judging

Champion Kelly Fish Robert Flint Chloe Keevers Amelie Martin Claudia Humphries
Reserve Champion  Vanessa Thompson Dominic Crotty Aiden Schelberg Zoe Cargill Harry Turnham
3rd Lily Nott Lottie Volker Mackenzie Koch Will Harborne Kaiti McGregor
4th Alister Gapes Thomas Duddy Samuel Graham Lachlan West Angus McGregor
  5th Darcy Graham Riley Scott Nicholas Erwin Tyler Martindale Jack Laurie
6th Myles Wellman
Highly Commended Georgie Hill Isaac Day Josh Halliday Sophie Halliday
  Highly Commended Georgia Scanlon Meg Kealey
Mort & Co Meat Judging Champion James Tout Ava Dobbin Zoe Rudder Byron Brunner Georgia Laurie
Reserve Champion Alister Gapes Max Strong Ella O’Neill Chloe Plowman Billi Marshall
3rd Aiden Rudder Brooke Iseppi Joel Megalconomos Charlie Salter Harry Turnham
4th Gemma Sullivan Ryan Knee Noah Iddles Emily Shannon John Deleforce
5th Georgia Scanlon Jack Iddles William Dobbin Monique Gapes Kaiti McGregor
Highly Commended   Angus McGregor
Highly Commended Tamika Schultz
Paraders Champion Imogen Scanlon Brooke Iseppi Matilda Salter Chloe Plowman Chloe Gould
Reserve Champion Alister Gapes Charlie Spina Meg Kealey Charlie Salter Mikaela Ross
Grand Champion Herdsman John Deleforce
Grand Champion Parader Matilda Salter
Grand Champion Meat Judge Georgia Laurie
Grand Champion Junior Judge Claudia Humphries
The Cattle Shop Fitting Competition Champion  Bowenfels Angus
Reserve Champion Bulliac Angus