Nominations are open for the 2018 Norman Lethbridge Award

November 12, 2018 2:34 pm

The Norman Lethbridge Award is a commemorative award named after the NSW State Committee’s secretary and well-known stock and station agent, Norman Lethbridge.

The award is in its seventeenth year, and it is open to a student or a cadet, male or female between 16-25 years of age, who is studying an agriculture subject/s, livestock auctioneering or stock and station agency.

The NSW State Committee are looking for a recipient who shows their support to agriculture, someone who volunteers their service, who assist his or her peers and who is respected by them and ‘a good all-rounder’.   The applicant must reside in Sydney or within 200 kilometres of Sydney.

The NSW State Committee are looking for a student or cadet who, with guidance, would live up to Norman Lethbridge’s esteemed character.

The committee seeks your support in nominating ONE student that fits the above criteria.

 Schools or businesses who have nominated previous successful applicants include:

  • Colo High
  • Caroline Chisholm College
  • Elders-Goulburn
  • Gosford High
  • Knox Grammar
  • Lisarow High
  • Marian College
  • Northholm Grammar
  • Picton High
  • Richmond High
  • Richmond Tafe
  • The Scots School, Bathurst
  • Catherines College, Singleton
  • Tocal Ag College.

The winner will receive a cash prize, complimentary junior membership to Angus Australia, the Norman Lethbridge Trophy, a scholarship to the three day Beef Assessment School at Tocal  and a Certificate of Achievement.

The award presentation will be made to the recipient during the Angus Judging at the Sydney 2019 Royal Easter Show and is proudly sponsored by Booroomooka Angus Stud, Bingara and Forres Angus Stud, Dungog and thanks to their generosity, total prize money has been increased to $5,000.

Please forward your nomination to the NSW State Committee at 4 Longford St, Roseville NSW 2069, no later than 23rd of November 2018 your nomination & candidate’s resume, date of birth and contact details.  If you have any questions in regard to the award, please do not hesitate to contact Richard Buck on mobile 0417 077 387 or email

Top Image: Yvonne and Bobby Gregory present Sharne Hoskins (centre) with the 16th Norman Lethbridge Award at the 2018 Sydney Royal Easter Show. Image: Emily H Photography