The 2016 Norman Lethbridge Award

March 20, 2017 12:07 pm

The Norman Lethbridge Award began in 2002 and has been running continuously ever since new South Wales Angus, named the award in honour of its past secretary Mr Norman Lethbridge.

The award is open to students and cadets over 16 years and under 25 years of age, studying agriculture, livestock auctioneering or stock and station agency. The applicant must reside in Sydney or within 200 kilometres of Sydney.

A record number of entries were received last year.

The results of the award are:

  • 1st Prize Ella Palmer, St Catherine’s Catholic College, Singleton
  • 2nd Prize Grace Cockbain, Pymble Ladies’ College, Pymble
  • 3rd Prize Ben Sherrott, Colo High School, North Richmond

Runners up:

  • Richard Cartwright, Macarthur Anglican School, Cobbitty
  • Charles Davis, St. Joseph’s College, Hunters Hill
  • Kane Gerrets, Tuggerah Lakes Secondary School, Berkley Vale

Presentations will be made at the conclusion of the morning session of the Angus Judging (approximately 12 noon), in the Hoeker Judging Arena at the Sydney Showground on Sunday 9th April 2017.

The Norman Lethbridge Award has been sponsored since its inception by the Munro family, Booroomooka Angus Stud, Bingara. For the second time a special Encouragement Award will be donated and presented by Gary Roberts, Potts Point.

It is unique that the same subcommittee formed at the inception of the award comprising Mrs Christine Erby, Mr Mark Lucas, Mr Simon Hennings and Mr Richard Buck have interviewed applicants and adjudicated all these years.

It is also pleasing to hear of past winners of the award succeeding in agriculture.

The 2004 winner of the Norman Lethbridge Award, Miss Ashley Norval has recently been announced as a 2017 RAS Rural Achiever. Ashley is the manager, Australian Pork Limited’s Technology Adoption and Industry Capability / Research and Innovation.

Ashley is still involved in cattle and spends most weekends at a farm in the Riverina that has 400 Angus breeders.