The 2019 Norman Lethbridge Award recipients announced

February 18, 2020 11:01 am

The New South Wales State Committee has announced the 2019 Norman Lethbridge Award recipients, after a record numbers of entries were put forth to the selection committee.

The Norman Lethbridge Award began in 2002 and has been running continuously ever since. The NSW State Committee named the award in honour of its past secretary Mr Norman Lethbridge.  The award is open to students and cadets over 16 years and under 25 years of age, studying agriculture, livestock auctioneering or stock and station agency.  The applicant must reside in Sydney or within 200 kilometres of Sydney.

The 2019 award recipients have recently been announced.

The results of the award are:

  Winner:  Mr Jesse Gauci– Nominated by Elders Bathurst

  Runner Up:  Mr Andrew Scarsbrook- Nominated by Oakhill College

  Third Place:   Miss Beth Simmonds – Nominated by Colo High School

  Equal Fourth Place: Miss Breanna Smith – Nominated by Blayney High School

  Equal Fourth Place: Miss Felicity Webb – Nominated by Scots All Saints College

  Gary Roberts Encouragement Award: Mr Andrew Scarsbrook

  Wendy & Des Stubbs Encouragement Award: Miss Beth Simmonds

Presentations will be made during the Angus Judging in the Hoeker Judging Arena at the Sydney Showground on Sunday 5th April 2020.

The Norman Lethbridge Award is sponsored by the Munro family,  Booroomooka Angus Stud, Bingara and Mrs Chris and Mr Jon Erby, Forres Angus Stud, Dungog, the family of the late Norman Lethbridge, Mrs Wendy and Mr Des Stubbs, Albion, Park and Mr Gary Roberts, Potts Point.

About the Norman Lethbridge Award:

It is unique that the same committee formed at the inception of the Norman Lethbridge Award, comprising Mrs Christine Erby, Mr Mark Lucas, Mr Simon Hennings and Mr Richard Buck have interviewed applicants and adjudicated for the past eighteen years.

It is pleasing to hear of past winners of the award succeeding in agriculture.  The 2002 inaugural winner of the Norman Lethbridge Award (Rachael Parkes,  Richmond High School) and along with her husband, Ged Mullins, runs the largest dairy farm in Queensland.

The 2003 winner (Stuart Moeck, Richmond Tafe) runs Valley Creek Simmentals at  Bowral.

The 2004 winner of the Norman Lethbridge Award ( Ashley Norval, Gosford High School) was a 2017 RAS Rural Achiever.  Ashley is the manager of Australian Pork Limited’s Technology Adoption and Industry Capability / Research & Innovation.

Throughout the award’s eighteen years, schools and businesses who have nominated  winning applicants include:

Bede Polding College, Caroline Chisholm College, Chevalier College, Colo High School, Elders, Goulburn, Elders, Bathurst, Gosford High School, Knox Grammar, Lisarow High School, Marian College, Northholm Grammar, Picton High School, Richmond High School, Richmond Tafe, The Scots School, St Catherines Catholic

College, Tocal Agriculture College and Tuggerah Lakes Secondary High School

Feature Image: Ashley Norval, Christine Erby, Simon Hennings and Mark Lucas