Richard Buck signs off on 25 years of service

July 3, 2019 9:45 am

After 25 years of service to the NSW State Committee as Secretary, Richard Buck is stepping down from the role. 

He has watched the breed blossom in this time and has served in the secretarial role under 13 chairs, and presided over 100 state committee meetings. 

The 13 Chairs Mr Buck has had the honour of serving under include – Bob Guest, Fred Bell, Derek Lotz, Simon Hennings, Netta Holmes, Peter Trahar, Ross Thompson, Erica Halliday, Damien Sotter, Sinclair Munro, Annie Scott, James Laurie and Mark Lucas. 

“The NSW State Committee and Angus Australia have grown enormously over those years,’’ Mr Buck said. 

“At the first Sydney Show in 1995 that I attended as secretary/treasurer, only a handful of Angus cattle were exhibited compared with the 2019 Angus Feature Breed Sydney Show where over 350 Angus bulls, females and steers were shown. 

“I give credit to the NSW State Committee members and sponsors who have formed and supported the Norman Lethbridge Award, the Noel Williams Shield and the newly established Business Recognition Award. 

“Without the support of those members and sponsors, the youth support given would not have been able to have been continued over these many years.’’ 

NSW State Committee chairman Mark Lucas paid tribute to Mr Buck’s commitment, attitude and service over the 25 years. 

“The Angus breed itself just celebrated 100 years so that puts his contribution into perspective,’’ Mr Lucas said. 

“This is a man who has dedicated his life for 25 years doing the most brilliant service at not only state level but to the benefit of Angus and the improvement of relationship building as a whole.’’ 

Mr Buck, will still be involved with the committee and intends to continue with his involvement with both the Norman Lethbridge Award and Noel Williams Shield. 

The new incoming secretary is Carol Grylls, Book Book, NSW. 

Feature image: Incoming secretary Carol Grylls with Richard Buck and vice chairman Josh Crosby at the NSW State Committee of Angus Australia meeting. 

Above: NSW State Committee members at the recent NSW State Committee Meeting