20th Anniversary of the Norman Lethbridge award

The Norman Lethbridge Award began in 2002 and has been running continuously ever since.  

Angus NSW, named the award in honour of its past secretary Norman Lethbridge. 

The award is open to students and cadets over 16 years and under 25 years of age, studying agriculture, livestock auctioneering or stock and station agency.  The applicant must reside in Sydney or within 200 kilometres of Sydney.

The Norman Lethbridge Award Committee, have pleasure in advising that to commemorate the twentieth anniversary of the award, a booklet has been compiled.

A copy of the booklet will be forwarded to all New South Wales members of Angus Australia, together with the next edition of the Angus Bulletin.

We managed to contact the winners of the award over the past twenty years, and we hope that you will enjoy reading their comments that they have sent us. 

We take this opportunity to thank the sponsors of the Norman Lethbridge Award over the many years. The Munro family of Booroomooka Angus Stud, Bingara, Mr Jon and Mrs Christine Erby of Forres Angus, Dungog, the Lethbridge family, Mr Des and Mrs Wendy Stubbs, Albion Park, Mr Gary Roberts, Potts Point. Without the support of these sponsors, the award would not have been able to have continued.

We would also like to thank Kim Woods from OutCross Media, Albury, for her wonderful help in compiling the booklet.

Enjoy reading. Any enquires please contact Richard Buck, Angus NSW, mobile 0417077387 or email richardbuckstockmaster@hotmail.com 

Footnote: Two previous winners of the award Jesse Gauci (2019) Elders Bathurst, and Darcy Howard (equal 2018) Chevalier College were this year selected amongst the ten finalists in the Young Auctioneers Competition at the Royal Easter Show.