2013 – Dubbo NSW

A record number of Angus Youth members, from Western Australia to New Zealand gathered in Dubbo for the Angus Youth National Roundup from the 17th to the 20th January. The event, organised by a group of volunteers, comprised of educational sessions, various competitions & also fun activities. Additionally, a huge range of scholarships & awards were presented to Angus Youths most outstanding members.

Irelands Angus was the major sponsor for the event with Genetics Australia & Teys Australia also being key supporters.

The educational sessions were delivered by experts in the industry & included topics such as animal nutrition, feed-lotting, agronomy & MSA with an emphasis on careers in the beef industry.

The competitions at the event included the Paraders classes, judged by Kate Hallawell from Orange, the cattle classes judged by Hayden Green & associate judge Luke Collins & also a Junior Judging & Herdsperson competition.

A special Dinner & Auction was also incorporated into the Roundup on the Saturday night with 410 people attending. Joel Flemming, last years National Champion Young Auctioneer, led the auction which raised over $14,000 to put directly towards the Roundup. Featured lots in the auction included a headbail generously donated by Leichts CIA & several elite embryos & semen packages.

Congratulations to Matt Cherry, Trio Angus, & the 2013 Roundup committee for organising such a successful event.

2013 Trans-Tasman Exchange – Kate Fairlie

Te Mania Most Potential Breeder Award – Zac McInerney

Aberdeen Estate Rising Star Award – Charlie Durham-Pout

Matthew George Citizenship Award – Amy Munro

PJ Cattle Co SAJHE Award – Jasmin Ramage

Waitara Angus National All Breeds Heifer Show Award – Jayden Nicholls

EJ Angus Encouragement Award – Brad Fazzari

Champion Team – The Cattle Shop

Best Presented Animal – Jai Wynberg

Best Maintained Stall – Waitara Angus

Angus Youth Ambassador’s – Bede McAlpin, Hannah Powe, Caitlin Berecry & Jack Henshaw

Champion Pee Wee: Lochie McLauchlan
Reserve Champion Pee Wee: Thomas Hewitt

Champion Junior: Georgie Laurie
Reserve Junior Champion: Brock Merchant

Champion Sub Intermediate: Taine Fredrickson
Reserve Sub Intermediate Champion: Alexander Chester

Champion Intermediate: Jessica Crick
Reserve Intermediate Champion: Dani Robson

Champion Seniors: Murk Schoen
Reserve Senior Champion: Kate Farlie


Champion Pee Wee: Maggie Halliday
Reserve Champion Pee Wee: Lilly Seaton Cooper

Champion Junior: Jacinta Cooper
Reserve Junior Champion: Phoebe Christie

Champion Sub Intermediate: Jasmin Ramage
Reserve Sub Intermediate Champion: Skye Hubbard

Champion Intermediate: Kelley O’Brien
Reserve Intermediate Champion: Alice Hall

Champion Seniors: Nathan O’Sullivan
Reserve Senior Champion: Hannah Powe

Champion Pee Wee: Annabelle Seaton-Cooper
Reserve Champion Pee Wee: Monique Gapes

Champion Junior: Thomas Costello
Reserve Junior Champion: Tiffany McLauchlan

Champion Sub Intermediate: Stephanie Hennings
Reserve Sub Intermediate Champion: John Hayward

Champion Intermediate: Lane Evans
Reserve Intermediate Champion: Lewis Bruggerman

Champion Seniors: Nathan O’Sullivan
Reserve Senior Champion: Stuart Hobbs